REFERENCE RECORDINGS records and manufactures award winning, ultimate quality CDs, Hybrid SACDs, Reference Mastercuts LPs, and revolutionary HRx discs: 176.4 kHz/24 bit music on DVD audio discs.

Our recordings are also offered as digital downloads through our own website and through multiple sites worldwide, including high resolution PCM downloads and both stereo and surround-sound DSD downloads.

We offer recordings from many of the finest classical, jazz, blues and world music artists. We record most of our releases with our own team, and also license select projects for our FRESH! series.

Our current artist roster includes The Kansas City Symphony, The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, The Utah Symphony Orchestra, True Concord Voices and Orchestra, The San Francisco Ballet Orchestra, pianists Joel Fan and Nadia Shpachenko, The Dallas Wind Symphony, blues singer/songwriters Doug MacLeod and Fiona Boyes, organists Jan Kraybill and Mary Preston, and more. Legacy artists available on RR titles perennially in print include: The Minnesota Orchestra, jazz pianist Dick Hyman, Eileen Farrell, Mike Garson, the original Canadian ensemble Tafelmusik, Red Norvo, The Kronos Quartet, The Chicago Pro Musica, Frederick Fennell, Ruggiero Ricci, Robert Farnon, Jose Serebrier, The Turtle Creek Chorale, Flora Purim, Airto Moreira, and many others.

The RR team believes that how a recording sounds is as important as the music itself. Our goal is to make your listening experience “The Best Seat in the House”.

Showing all 5 results

Doug Mcleod – Break The Chain – 180g vinyl

  • 45RPM 1/2 speed mastered
  • 180g Audiophile vinyl
  • Now in stock
In this release, his third album for Reference Recordings, Doug MacLeod continues to explore the breadth and depth of the human condition. Recorded by Reference’s Grammy-winning engineer ‘Prof.’ Keith O. Johnson at Skywalker Sound in Marin County, California, Break The Chain has twelve new MacLeod songs. Each is extremely personal and at the same time, universal; covering subjects topical, humorous, and soulful; from the satirical to the sublime.

Fiona Boyes Professin’ The Blues – Reference Recordings 180g Vinyl

“If you don’t think an Aussie can sing the blues, give it a listen. The live recording by Keith O. Johnson, is stunning.” —Michael Fremer, Stereophile

MOZART: Piano Concertos Nos. 21 and 24 – 200g Reference Mastercuts

MOZART: Piano Concertos Nos. 21 and 24 EUGENE ISTOMIN, piano A legendary pianist! Inspired performances by one of America’s greatest musicians, with Gerard Schwarz conducting the Seattle Symphony Orchestra
  • Reference Recordings - Reference Mastercuts
  • Mastered by Paul Stubblebine
  • 200g Vinyl
  • Half-speed Masterred
  • 45RPM
  • Quality Record Pressings in deluxe gatefold jacket

Nojima Plays Liszt – Reference Recordings 2 x Vinyl LP

Nojima Plays Liszt (RR-25) was named “Best Recording of the Month” by Stereo Review when it was originally released in 1988. It was described as “A stunning demonstration of technique put at the service of profoundly musical ends.”

Respighi – Belkis, Queen of Sheba-Suite – The Pines Of Rome – Vinyl LP

  • Reference Mastercuts
  • 200 Gram Vinyl
  • 33 1/3 RPM
Grammy Nominated for Best Engineered Album Classical